prix2016 JR

April 11th 2016 - The results are announced for the Prix CIRCOM 2016 which attracted a record number – 246 – of entries across the 10 categories.

SVT (Sweden) did well with a triple success: SVT Göteborg winning Minorities in Society, SVT Sundsvall Best News Report and Randi Gitz of SVT Lulea named Video Journalist.

Winners include stations which are new to success in the awards. RTV Vojvodine (Serbia) has won the Magazine and News Magazine award and was also commended in the Best News Report category. RTS Belgrade (Serbia) won the best Music Programme category. The Georgia Public Service Broadcaster was commended in Most Original and new CIRCOM member EPCP Asturias (Spain) was commended in the Magazine and News Magazine category.

Other category winners were FTV (France), RTBF (Belgium), RTÉ and TG4 (both Ireland), NRK Hordaland (Norway)

The winner of the Grand Prix is Absolute Swedish (Absolut svensk), SVT Göteborg, Sweden – the best of the best – Grand Prix winner was announced and awarded at the gala show during the conference at Plovdiv, hosted by BNT. The award is sponsored by ORF Austria.

Prix CIRCOM Regional 2016 Award Ceremony

Full list of the winners and commended in all categories

Category and Grand Prix 2016 Winner: Absolute Swedish (Absolut svensk), SVT Göteborg, Sweden
Commended: World, Take Me in Your Arms, I’m Coming (Lume, ia-ma in brate, eu vin), TVR Iasi, Romania

Winner: A Turning Tide in the Life of Man (i mBéal na Stoirme), TG4, Ireland
Commended: Same sex love, wrong love ?!? (Gleiche Liebe, falsche Liebe ?!?), HR Frankfurt Main , Germany

Winner: Radar – 20 years later (Radar - 20 godina posle), RTV Vojvodine, Serbia
Commended: Pola´s farm (La Quintana de Pola), EPCP Asturias (Spain)

Winner: Binički, RTS Belgrade, Serbia
Commended: Leif Ove Andsnes: My Orchestra (Leif Ove og Harmonien), NRK Hordaland, Norway

Winner: Man with Harpoon (L'Homme au harpon), RTBF, Belgium
Commended: Transmission (Transmisia), GPB, Georgia

Winner: Nick Sheridan , RTÉ, Ireland

Winner: The deepest dive (Det dypeste dykket), NRK Hordaland
Commended: Time to waste (Vreme za gubene) , BNT, Bulgaria

Winner: Randi Gitz, SVT Lulea, Sweden
Commended: Simon Spark, BBC Yorkshire & Lincs, UK

Winner: The man on the roof (Takmannen), SVT Sundsvall, Sweden
Commended: Women in Refugee Camp in Preševo (Žene u izbegličkom kampu u Preševu), RTV Vojvodine, Serbia

Winner: Bilal, the Syrian Refugee, FTV, France
Commended: Egg Boy, TG4, Ireland

David Lowen, President of the Prix CIRCOM said after the judging: “We are delighted with the number and strength of the entries. We congratulate all the winners and are delighted to note some new names next to the proven quality of SVT, NRK, BBC and others regular winners."

“We thank all our sponsors, now including RTÉ and the European Committee of the Regions as well as ORF, BBC, France TV, TG4, TVP (Poland), TVR (Romania), SVT along with public institutions such as the Council of Europe and the European Parliament."

Category winners (except Rising Star) each receive 2000 euros in cash, plus a trophy, plus travel and accommodation expenses to attend the conference and gala. The Rising Star receives, instead of cash, a similar amount as grant to enable an internship at a regional station in another country.

The judging took place from 4th till 9th April 2016 in Novi Sad, Serbia, hosted by RTV Vojvodine. Jury members were 14 TV professionals from 13 European countries. 
Have a sneak peek at how the judges work in selecting the very best programmes CIRCOM members produce.


Two New Sponsors Boost Prix CIRCOM

Broadcaster RTÉ from Ireland and the European Committee of the Regions have joined the sponsors of the annual awards for programmes and skills from Europe’s public service broadcasters in the 2016 Prix CIRCOM.

RTÉ takes over support for the most popular category – Documentary - while the European Committee of the Regions sponsors a new award – Best News Report. The value of the awards in cash, travel and bursary is more than 35,000 euros.

The full line-up for 2016 is: Documentary (sponsor RTÉ, Ireland), Best News Report (European Committee of the Regions), Most Original (TVP, Poland), Minorities in Society (FTV, France), Magazine and News Magazine (SVT, Sweden), Music (TG4, Ireland), Investigative Journalism (Council of Europe), Video Journalism (BBC, UK) and Rising Star (TVR, Romania). In addition, the Grand Prix – the Best of the Best – is sponsored by ORF, Austria.

There was once again a special award of € 1000 and attendance at the gala ceremony for the feature in CIRCOM's Citizenship co-production series considered the best by the judges. The co-production and the special award are supported by the European Parliament.


The sponsors of the categories

ORF 100 ORF Austria, sponsor of Grand Prix Award

pof rte 
RTÉ Ireland, sponsor of  Documentary Programme Award


 France Télévisions, sponsor of Minorities in Society Award



 SVT Sweden, sponsor of Magazine and News Magazine Award

pof tg4 v2

 TG4 Ireland, sponsor of Music Programme Award


pof tvp

  TVP Poland, sponsor of Most Original Programme Award



     TVR Romania, sponsor of Rising Star Award


pof coe1

 Council of Europe, sponsor of Investigative Journalism Award


 BBC UK, sponsor of Video Journalism Award

CoR 213x80 European Committee of the Regions, sponsor of Best News Report Award


EP logo2015 100 European Parliament, sponsor of Special Award for the best feature in CIRCOM's Citizenship co-production series