The most prestigious award for television broadcasting and production in Europe’s regions in 2014 will have a new sponsor and a new award scheme for a young reporter/presenter.

Broadcaster TVP (Poland) will sponsor the Sports category. It is also expected that the winner of the Rising Star Award for a reporter/presenter aged 30 or under, sponsored by TVR (Romania), can benefit from an internship at another European public service regional station. SVT (Sweden) has taken on sponsorship of the important category Magazine and News Magazine.

In addition, the Prix will have in 2014 a Special Award which recognises the best features and programmes in the Citizenship Co-production. This is a CIRCOM co-production venture for 2014, the year of elections in the EU. The co-production is open to all CIRCOM member stations and is supported by the European Parliament.

As well as TVP, SVT and TVR, the other regional broadcast sponsors are BBC (UK), FTV (France), RTVSLO (Slovenia), TG4 (Ireland). Other sponsors are the Council of Europe, the Dutch Cultural Media Fund and SES. The “best of the best” is the Grand Prix, which is sponsored by SES, the satellite distribution company.

More than 30,000 euros in prize money, trophy, travel and accommodation and much prestige is at stake across 10 categories and the Grand Prix. The judging will be in Bulgaria, with BNT as hosts, in April 2014 and the gala award show will be in Cavtat near Dubrovnik, with HRT (Croatia) as hosts, in May 2014.

TVP has been a regular supporter of the Prix as a sponsor of the Magazine and News Magazine category and now takes up the sponsorship vacated by ERT, the Greek broadcaster now dissolved. SVT switches sponsorship from Social Interaction and Viewer Support, which is no longer a category.

Details of the internship award cannot be confirmed until the winner is known because language and preference need to be taken into account. Also some broadcasters need to confirm the legal safeguards on employment matters.

The full list of categories and sponsors for the 2014 awards is:

Grand Prix
sponsor: SES
  pof ses
sponsor: Dutch Cultural Media Fund
  pof dutch media fund
sponsor: TG4 Ireland
  pof tg4
Investigative Journalism
sponsor: Council of Europe
  pof coe
Magazine and News Magazine
SVT Sweden
  pof svt
Minorities in Society
sponsor: FTV France
  pof ftv
Most Original
sponsor: RTVSLO Slovenia
  pof rtvslo
Rising Star
sponsor: TVR Romania
  pof tvr
sponsor: TVP Poland
  pof tvp
Video Journalism
sponsor: BBC UK
  bbc logo
Special Award for Citizenship Co-production
supported by the European Parliament
  pof eup


The competition will be open for entries later in December 2013 and the entry deadline is in March 2014.