On December 18th 2019 search for the top TV shows made in Europe’s regions by public service media broadcasters and media operators in the 30th year of the Prix CIRCOM.

More than 45,000 euros are there to be won in a package of cash, trophy, travel and accommodation for winners and commended entries across 11 categories and a Grand Prix for the “best of the best”.

Entry is free and is restricted to those broadcasters and media operators who are members of CIRCOM Regional’s 230 stations in 30 states of Europe. Deadline for submitting entry was March 16th 2020.

By the closing date, almost 200 entries were received with about 100 hours of content viewing across the 11 categories. We hope to judge all entries in October in Sitgès, hosted by TV3 Catalonia, provided we know by late summer that travel is possible for the judges and within Spain. If this is not possible, we will make every effort to complete the judging online. A date for the announcement of the category awards will be made when we know the details of the judging process. At that time, we hope also to confirm how and where the trophies will be presented.
David Lowen, President, Prix CIRCOM


Categories and sponsors in 2020 are:

pof tvp

  TVP Poland, sponsor of Grand Prix


pof rte 
RTÉ Ireland, sponsor of Documentary

pof asturias galicia TPA Asturias-TVG Galicia, sponsors of Entertainment and Drama 

pof bnt  BNT Bulgaria, sponsor of Europe 

pof coe1


 Council of Europe, sponsor of Investigative Journalism


pof ftv 120

 France Télévisions, sponsor of Minorities in Society


pof nrk

  NRK Norway, sponsor of Most Original and Innovative


pof tg4 v2

  TG4 Ireland, sponsor of Music and Arts


pof rpo

 RPO The Netherlands
, sponsor of News Programme


 SVT Sweden, sponsor of News Report

, sponsor of Video Journalism


     TVR Romania, sponsor of Young Onscreen Talent



This is the 30th edition of the Prix CIRCOM - the first awards were judged in Turin, Italy, in 1990 hosted by RAI, with the award ceremony at Bled, Slovenia, hosted by TVSLO.

David Lowen, who has been President of the Prix and chair of the judges for 20 years, said: “The Prix CIRCOM develops every year with new categories, new ideas and new entering TV stations. It remains after 30 years the most prized award to win, not just for the trophy and cash, but for the honour of being recognised by your peers for your excellence.